TANZFONDS ERBE EXTENDED

Header Image Living Archive

"Eyes with no gaze" (2021) © Laurent Goldring

Isabelle Schad / Good Work Productions
Living Archive

Having worked as a choreographer since 1999, the Berlin-based artist Isabelle Schad has built a wide-ranging repertoire. In 20 years, she has created more than 40 internationally acclaimed pieces that bridge dance, performance and visual art.

 

When the coronavirus pandemic hit and severely restricted all artistic production, she took this as an opportunity to pause and take stock of what she had created so far, also reflecting on her choreographic legacy. With the help of a grant from TANZPAKT RECONNECT she developed a concept for an online archive that would document her oeuvre in a systematic way and thus keep it alive.

 

The “Living Archive” brings existing material into the present by examining, rearranging and contextualising it. Transformed in this way, the works gain a new, timeless kind of temporality, which manifests in different formats:

 

“Working together” is dedicated to Isabelle Schad’s longstanding collaboration with the visual artist and philosopher Laurent Goldring. By presenting selected video loops and photographs from their joint oeuvre, they create a narrative of parallel and transversal working practices.

 

For the publication “A Room Full of Particles. A Living Archive for Isabelle Schad”, the choreographer sent out invitations to people who had contributed to her work in some way or another, asking them to reflect on her artistic practice from their own point of view. The responses she received included videos, audio tapes, texts, poems, letters, drawings and photos. The dramaturg Elena Basteri collected these ‘traces’ and arranged them in an organic, intuitive way to create a heterogeneous, living archive.

 

The publication is free of charge and can be downloaded here.

 

Credits
MORE

Idea & Concept: Isabelle Schade, Elena Basteri

Choreography: Isabelle Schad, Laurent Goldring

Photos & Loops: Laurent Goldring

 

Supported by BUREAU RITTER//TANZPAKT RECONNECT and Dachverband Tanz Deutschland/DIS-TANZEN, funded by the German Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media as part of the NEUSTART KULTUR initiative

Working together: "Unturtled"
MORE

Video Loop by Laurent Goldring

Working together: "Collective Jumps"
MORE

Video Loop by Laurent Goldring

Working together: "EYES WITH NO GAZE"
MORE

Video Loop by Laurent Goldring

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE:

HEUTE: volkstanzen

Four choreographers investigated parallels between folk dance and popular contemporary dances. A major folk-dance festival invited participants to dance and reflect on the theme.MORE

SACHAROFF RESEARCH PROJECT

Stella Tinbergen’s documentary film Poets of Dance reveals the life and works of the famous dance couple Clotilde and Alexander Sacharoff and includes a reconstruction of their dances. MORE

TANZFONDS ERBE EXTENDED

Header Image Living Archive

"Collective Jumps" (2014) © Laurent Goldring

Isabelle Schad / Good Work Productions
Living Archive

Die Berliner Künstlerin Isabelle Schad hat seit 1999 ein umfangreiches Repertoire an Choreografien geschaffen. In 20 Jahren entstanden über 40 Arbeiten, die sich zwischen Tanz, Performance und Bildender Kunst bewegen und internationale Erfolge feiern.

 

Die Pandemie, die das künstlerische Produzieren stark einschränkte, sah die Choreografin als Chance, innezuhalten, das bisher Geschaffene zu reflektieren und sich mit der Zukunft ihres Erbes auseinanderzusetzen. Im Rahmen einer Förderung durch TANZPAKT RECONNECT arbeitete sie u.a. an einem Konzept für ein Online-Archiv, das ihr Oeuvre nicht nur systematisch dokumentieren, sondern darüber hinaus auch lebendig halten soll.

 

Das „Living Archive“ befragt, arrangiert und kontextualisiert vorhandenes Material neu und überführt es so in die Gegenwart. Solchermaßen transformiert gewinnen die Werke eine eigene zeitlose Präsenz, die sich in unterschiedlichen Formaten manifestiert:

 

„Working together“ ist Isabelle Schads langjähriger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bildenden Künstler und Philosophen Laurent Goldring gewidmet. Aus dem umfangreichen Bildmaterial ihres gemeinsamen Oeuvres wird eine Auswahl von Videoloops und Fotografien präsentiert, die eine parallele und transversale Erzählung entstehen lässt.

 

Für die Publikation „A Room Full of Particles. A Living Archive for Isabelle Schad“ verschickte die Choreografin eine Einladung an Menschen, die auf die eine oder andere Weise zu ihrem Werk beigetragen haben. Sie wurden gebeten, Isabelle Schads künstlerische Praxis aus der eigenen Perspektive zu reflektieren. Die facettenreichen Antworten auf diese Einladung umfassten Videos, Tonbänder, Texte, Gedichte, Briefe, Zeichnungen und Fotos. Die Dramaturgin Elena Basteri sammelte diese „Traces“ und ordnete sie für die Veröffentlichung in einer organischen und intuitiven Sammlung zu einem heterogenen, lebendigen Archiv.

 

 

Die Publikation steht hier kostenfrei zum Download zur Verfügung.

 

 

Credits
MEHR

Idee & Konzept: Isabelle Schad, Elena Basteri

Choreografie: Isabelle Schad, Laurent Goldring

Fotos und Loops: Laurent Goldring

 

Unterstützt durch BUREAU RITTER//TANZPAKT RECONNECT und Dachverband Tanz Deutschland/DIS-TANZEN, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen der Initiative NEUSTART KULTUR. Hilfsprogramm Tanz

Working together: "Unturtled"
MEHR

Video Loop by Laurent Goldring

Working together: "Collective Jumps"
MEHR

Video Loop by Laurent Goldring

Working together: "EYES WITH NO GAZE"
MEHR

Video Loop by Laurent Goldring

DAS KÖNNTE SIE AUCH
INTERESSIEREN:

Jagd. Kampf. Rausch

Reinhild Hoffmann gab zum zweiten Mal im Rahmen von TANZFONDS ERBE eine ihrer Choreografien an eine neue Tänzergeneration weiter: Das Staatstheater Braunschweig studierte ihr 1991 entstandenes Stück "Zeche Eins" neu ein.MEHR

Witch Dance Project

Mary Wigmans "Hexentanz" war der Ausgangspunkt für zehn Auftragschoreografien, die sich mit der Re-Interpretation des Werks aus den verschiedensten Perspektiven beschäftigten.MEHR